Fish Cakes!

IMG_4599

On Sunday evening I invited my boyfriend round for dinner and I wanted to cook him dinner. Oh I feel so domestic.

Although, despite my couple of months learning different skills for cooking and baking (of which i’m very proud), I have discovered the biggest cheat of cooking which I am taking full advantage of. Ready-made. I don’t mean ready made meals (although they are GREAT for uni hehe). I mean ready made fish cakes that you just whack in the oven. Life saver. They taste great, are easy to cook and make me look like I’m an amazing chef.

But chummy, before you think I’m a total cheat, along with these fish cakes I have become more inventive, well sort of, with food too. Example from Sunday is Cheesy Potatoes. Ah man these tasted good. Squash new potatoes with a fork (just once) and smother with cheese then microwave it for 15 seconds. Trust me on this chum, It is like food of the Gods. Although anything with cheese is food of the Gods.

But I did burn the green beans by leaving them on the hob too long. They were more brown that green really. So don’t worry, the old Emilly hasn’t really gone.

So to conclude my Learning to Cook couple of months. I’ve learnt how to make cookies, that Nigella’s cooking time for my oven is different, wearing an apron makes all the difference, how to cut chicken correctly and that I still have so much left to learn!

Leave a Reply

