Representation

Apologies for my recent absence, deadlines are great aren’t they?

Anyway, I have been meaning to write a post about representation for ages now since it has become quite a big part of my semester. I got a job working for my student union (yey! I can now afford to get a weekly hot chocolate) and I now go to faculty level meetings and discuss issues, problems, suggestions and ideas for the future of the faculty – and I then represent all of the students of science on these meetings (kinda scary when I think about it) but every idea I take to these meetings I get from students and school student led meetings.

My point is that I wasn’t aware of how important¬†representation is and how it can affect my life so drastically until now. A lot of decisions and procedures my university implements has to be shown to students, staff and so many committees until it is actually put in place, and because it takes so long I didn’t care and didn’t actually think it would impact me. But things that I say at meetings are taken seriously, noted down (eek…) and I have actually changed some stuff for the better for students across science. I didn’t realise I could have this power to change policies and new procedures are being put in place for next semester!

So this is my plea for more people to get involved in representation. You may not have to represent a body of people but at least take an interest in what those people are saying because chances are, stuff they talk about will affect you and you could change it to make your experience even better.

Leave a Reply

