Nice n’ Natural

image

I feel like in January I want to look nice and put in effort, but we’re past the berry coloured lips and dramatic cat flick, so what is a girl to do?
I took a leaf out of Anna ‘s blog (of vivannadoesmakeup) of gold eyes and subtle lips for the new year and so far,  it’s worked wonders for me. I have substituted in drug store make up but I think this idea can be used by anyone and on many different levels. For example I missed out foundation, highlight and lipstick today and this make up look still worked and wasn’t too much.

So, first off I use in Nivia lip butter in raspberry (Btw this stuff is amazing) and then apply my Body Shop BB cream (shade 01) with my fingers. I like this stuff, it just evens out my skin tone but it’s not too heavy which makes my skin break out like crazy. Then I use benefit ‘s erase paste, again with fingers, and take the smallest spodge between my two ring fingers and pat it under my eyes. I have a policy now where I don’t put concealer on spots because A) it usually just highlights them more and B) everyone has seen a spot before. I then apply the lightest layer of highlight to the upper corners of my cheeks  (17 wow! highlighter). For blusher I really like cream blushes like this Revlon baby stick. I really love this formula (even if no one else does!) because I love the colour and it lasts for ages.

For my eyes I created a golden brown smokey eye, using my by terry ombre black star (shade black pearl) combined with two palettes, a benefit one I got for Christmas called Goodies A Go Go and a seventeen eyeshadow quad called Midnight Jewel Heist. I take Call my Bluff all across the lid, Guilty Pleasure and Thanks a Latte in the crease, with Kiss Me,  I’m Tipsy on the edge and below the lower lash line. I then put the gold shimmery shadow right in the centre of my eye lid. For mascara I use a clique mascara (the one with the green brush all the writing as rubbed off) in black – I love this stuff.  And to finish it off I use a lipstick from Marks and Spencer from their limited collection in Mallow which is currently my favorite lipstick of the moment.

Leave a Reply

